LEED Certification Process & How Legend’s Smart Transformer Earns You LEED Points

Now when you install Legend Power’s smart transformer, the Electrical Harmonizer-AVR, in your building it will contribute up to 5 points to your LEED certification. Kyle Anders, a Sustainable Design Specialist, states:

5 points is a very noteworthy contribution in my experience, it is rare that a single product/technology can have this high of an impact.  I don’t have experience with evaluating other voltage optimization technologies, but since LEED emphasizes reductions in energy cost (rather than just energy), Legend has the advantage over many other energy savings technologies since it impacts electricity (the more expensive portion of a building’s energy use), compared to other technologies that may generate heating fuel savings but not electricity savings.

Read the full press release.

According to the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), LEED, which stands for Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design, is an internationally recognized certification system for green building. Originally developed by the U.S. Green Building Council, it certifies both residential and commercial buildings, providing third-party verification (through the Green Building Certification Institute) that a building is operating in the most sustainable way possible. 

As the Canada Green Building Council notes, LEED certification gives you recognition for your sustainability efforts and allows you to qualify for government funding incentives.

LEED measures a building’s performance in the following areas:

  • Sustainable Sites – looks at where a building is built and its impact on the ecosystem.
  • Water Efficiency – encourages smarter water use.
  • Energy & Atmosphere – promotes efficient and clean energy use.
  • Materials & Resources – encourages sustainable building products and materials.
  • Indoor Environmental Quality – promotes improving indoor air quality and access to natural daylight.

According to USGBC, Building’s are rated out of a possible 100 points, with the potential for 10 bonus points. Certification requires 40+ points, Silver is 50+ points, Gold+ is 60 points and Platinum requires 80+ points.

LEED Rating Systems include:

  • New Construction
  • Existing Buildings: Operations & Maintenance
  • Commercial Interiors
  • Core & Shell
  • Schools
  • Retail
  • Healthcare
  • Homes
  • Neighborhood Development

The first step to LEED certification is registering your building or project. To register in the US, visit LEED Online. Canada has adapted USGBC’s rating system to work within it’s own climate and building regulations. To register in Canada, visit Canada Green Building Council.